Krustyb’s Blog











{December 1, 2008}   Rss and all that jazz!!

Have spent the weekend at dancing shows/dress rehearsals and still have the lyrics to Chicago buzzing round my head so apologies for the title.

I have previously used Google reader as my rss-reading tool which I thought was really good and I have to say that I think I still prefer it to Bloglines as I found it returned better search results. I just find it a bit more simplistic but whether that is because I am just used to it I’m not sure – I will, however, persevere with Bloglines. Having said that I really enjoyed this part of the course and seeing what is out there.

It made me think of how useful this could be especially to research/final year students and that I could possibly start to incorporate this into advanced information skills sessions as a way of encouraging students to keep up with current trends/new releases/ latest blogs. I’m also thinking of highlighting this with EBSCO services which has a one-step RSS search facility (probably more information databases have this facility – I need to investigate further). The possibilities are endless!! Anyway to finish off – I’m not keen on Sydic8, the results were OK but I found it really slow but I did like Topix.net as it worked really well and I found some really good sites.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
